Editorial Board


Shareen Hertel  is an Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of Connecticut and holds a joint appointment with the university’s Human Rights Institute. She is the author or co-editor of multiple books and  scholarly articles and has served as a consultant to foundations, nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) and United Nations agencies in the United States, Latin America and South Asia. Hertel serves on the editorial boards of Human Rights Review, Human Rights and Human Welfare, and the International Studies Intensives book series of Routledge.

Associate Editor

Richard P. Hiskes is a Professor of Political Science at Grand Valley State University and former Editor of JHR from 2007-2013. He is the author of many books and articles on political theory, and on human rights. His most recent work is entitlted, The Human Right to a Green Future: Environmental Rights and Intergenerational Justice (Cambridge 2009).


Thomas Cushman is Deffenbaugh de Hoyos Carlson Professor in the Social Sciences and Professor of Sociology at Wellesley College. He is the Founding Editor of Human Rights Review, and the Founding Editor of the Journal of Human Rights.


Editorial Board


M. Rodwan Abouharb
University College London, UK
Akbar Ahmed
American University, USA
Clair Apodaca
Virginia Tech University, USA
Zehra Arat
University of Connecticut
Thomas Brudholm
University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Sonia Cardenas
Trinity College, USA
Audrey Chapman
University of Connecticut Health Center, USA
Michael Davis
Chinese University of Hong Kong,
Hong Kong
Mark Gibney
University of North Carolina Asheville, USA
Richard J. Goldstone
University of Virgina Law School, USA
Michael Goodhart
Univeristy of Pittsburgh, USA
Rhoda Howard-Hassmann
Wilfred Laurier University, Canada
 Thomas Keenan
Bard College, USA
Anthony J. Langlois
American University, USA
Brian Lepard
University of Nebraska, USA
Sally Merry
New York University, USA
Kurt Mills
University of Dundee, Scotland
Amanda Murdie
University of Georgia, USA
Andrew J. Nathan
Columbia University, USA
Martha Nussbaum
University of Chicago, USA
Sabrina Ramet
Norwegian University of Science & Technology, Norway
David L. Richards
University of Connecticut, USA
John Rodden
Tunghai University, Taiwan
Wayne Sandholtz
University of Southern California, USA
Michael Santoro
Santa Clara University, USA
Nancy Scheper-Hughes
University of California, Berkeley, USA
Adam Seligman
Boston University, USA
Gideon Sjoberg
University of Texas at Austin, USA
Peter Spielmann
The Associated Press (retired)
Kimberly Theidon
Harvard University, USA
Bryan S. Turner
University of Western Sydney, Australia
Brian Waddell
University of Connecticut, USA
Richard Wilson
University of Connecticut, USA
Joseph K. Young
American University, USA